Program Overview


Plenary Speakers (Award Lectures)


09:30  Werner Prize Lecture 2024: Prof. Athina Anastasaki, ETH Zurich 

received the prize for her excellence in research spanning across the broad areas of polymer synthesis, polymer self-assembly and chemical recycling, also referred to as depolymerization. 

The prize is endowed with CHF 10’000 and a medal in bronze.


10:00  Sandmeyer Award Lecture 2024: The Eawag team “Advanced wastewater treatment”,
namely Prof. Urs von Gunten, EPFL Lausanne/Eawag, Prof. Juliane Hollender, ETH Zurich, Dr. Christa McArdell, Dr. Adriano Joss, Marc Böhler and Dr. Christian Abegglen, Eawag, and Prof. em. Hansruedi Siegrist, ETH Zurich,

is awarded in recognition of the team’s outstanding achievements in using chemistry to address a challenge of large societal im-portance: securing clean water.

The award is endowed with CHF 20’000. 


16:30  Green & Sustainable Chemistry  Award Lecture 2023: Prof. Ali Coskun, University of Fribourg

received the prize for his outstanding contributions towards the development of sustainable polymers for catalysis, energy and environental applications.

The award is endowed with CHF 10’000 and is sponsord by Syngenta Crop Protection AG.


17:00  SCS Senior Industrial Science Award Lecture 2024: Dr. Rosa Maria Rodriguez Sarmiento, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

receives the prize for her impactful contributions to numerous research initiatives in various therapeutic areas such as CNS and rare diseases, as well as Cardiovascular and metabolic diseases coupled with her influence on the scientific community both within and outside the company.

The award is endowed with CHF 7’000.